Q: I have heard the acronym OPEC used in the news. What does this acronym represent?

A: OPEC stands for the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries. OPEC currently has eleven nations: Algeria, Indonesia, the Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, the Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela.